Skip to main content
Photo of Christopher Armitage, taken by Sarah Boyd



Christopher Armitage’s teaching philosophy is that in seeking to inspire students, the teacher’s being inspired by his or her subject is a desirable prerequisite, and he considers himself fortunate that his interests in English, American, and Canadian literature aligns with his degrees from England, Canada, and the United States. His international education convinced him of the consciousness-widening value of studying abroad, so he began taking UNC students and alumni on Study Abroad programs in 1970.

He has been teaching at UNC since 1967 and has won numerous teaching awards in the following decades.

Check out the recent article about his Shakespeare program:


1967 Ph.D. English, Duke
1964 M.A. English and Canadian Literature, Western Ontario
1958 M.A., Oxford
1954 B.A. Honors English, Oxford


  • Manual of Service Writing for the Royal Canadian Air Force. (Ottawa: The Queen’s Printer, 1958).
  • (co-author), A Bibliography of the Works of Louis MacNeice. (London: Kaye & Ward and Edmonton: University of Alberta Press, 1973)
  • Sir Walter Ralegh, An Annotated Bibliography [1576-1986]. (Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 1987).
  • Anne Wilkinson. (Toronto: ECW Press, 1989).
  • The Poetry of Piety. an anthology compiled with Rev. Dr. Ben Witherington, 2002.
  • Literary and Visual Ralegh. (Manchester University Press, 2013).


  • Elected an Honorary St. Edmund Fellow at Oxford
  • Member of the Vice Chancellor’s Circle at Oxford
  • 1973 Standard Oil Foundation Award “for inspirational teaching of undergraduates”
  • 1981 Nicholas Salgo Outstanding Teacher Award “in recognition of teaching excellence as evidenced by classroom effectiveness, ability to motivate and inspire students and contributions to student intellectual development”
  • 1986-89 Bowman and Gordon Grey Term Chair for “excellence in inspirational teaching of undergraduates”
  • 1995-98 The first University Professor of Distinguished Teaching “in recognition of career-long excellence and exceptional ability in the teaching of graduate and undergraduate students”
  • 2000 Elected to UNC Academy of Distinguished Teaching Scholars
  • 2003 Tanner Award for “demonstrated excellence and exceptional ability in the teaching of undergraduates”
  • 2008-14 Bowman and Gordon Gray Chair
  • 2009 Board of Governors’ Medal for Sustained Excellence in Teaching
  • 2015 Mentoring Award of the Carolina Women’s Leadership Council