Retired Faculty

Title Research Groups Office
Laurence G. Avery

Professor Emeritus

unclga@live.unc.edu
Alan C. Dessen

Peter G. Phialas Distinguished Professor Emeritus

acdessen@live.unc.edu
Joseph M. Flora

Professor Emeritus

jflora@email.unc.edu
J. Lee Greene

Professor Emeritus

jlgreene@live.unc.edu

William Harmon

James Gordon Hanes Distinguished Professor Emeritus

Group VIII - British Literature from 1900 to the Present harmonw@live.unc.edu
Howard Harper

Professor Emeritus

hharper@live.unc.edu

Trudier Harris

J. Carlyle Sitterson Distinguished Professor Emerita

Group VI - American Literature to 1900, Group VII - American Literature from 1900 to the Present, Group XI - African American Literature, Group XII - Southern Literature 48raven@comcast.net

Mae G. Henderson

Professor Emerita

Group IX - Critical Theory and Cultural Studies, Group VII - American Literature from 1900 to the Present Greenlaw 440
hendersm@email.unc.edu

Fred Hobson

Lineberger Distinguished Professor in the Humanities Emeritus

Group VI - American Literature to 1900 Greenlaw 218
fhobson@email.unc.edu

Joy S. Kasson

Professor of American Studies and English

Group VI - American Literature to 1900 Greenlaw 515
jskasson@email.unc.edu
Edward Donald Kennedy

Professor Emeritus of English and Comparative Literature 

Group II - English Literature from its beginnings to 1485 
ekennedy@email.unc.edu

Kimball King

Professor Emeritus

jkking@email.unc.edu
Diane R. Leonard

Associate Professor of Comparative Literature

Comparative Literature Dey 330
sesame@email.unc.edu

Allan Life

Associate Professor Emeritus

Group V - English Literature from 1789 to 1900 (Nineteenth-Century British Literature) arlife@email.unc.edu
Erika Lindemann

Professor Emerita 

Group X - Rhetoric, Composition, and Literacy Steele 3014
ulinde@email.unc.edu
C. Townsend Ludington

Cary C. Boshamer Distinguished Professor Emeritus

ctljr@live.unc.edu
Margaret O'Connor

Associate Professor Emerita

maoconno@live.unc.edu
Daniel Patterson

Kenan Professor Emeritus

efpatterson@unc.edu
Julius Raper

Professor Emeritus

jrraper@live.unc.edu
Mark L. Reed

Lineberger Distinguished Professor Emeritus in the Humanities

mlr@live.unc.edu
Richard Rust

Professor Emeritus

rust@live.unc.edu

James Seay

Professor Emeritus

Creative Writing Greenlaw 315
jseay@email.unc.edu
Richard Smyth

Professor Emeritus

smyth@live.unc.edu
Philip Stadter

Professor Emeritus of Classics

stadter@unc.edu
Thomas Stumpf

Associate Professor Emeritus

tstumpf@live.unc.edu
Weldon Thornton

William R. and Jeanne H. Jordan Professor Emeritus

wthornto@live.unc.edu

Joseph Wittig
Group I - The English Language, Group II - English Literature from its beginnings to 1485 jwittig@unc.edu
Charles (Terry) Zug

Professor Emeritus

czug@live.unc.edu