English Faculty

Title Research Groups Contact

Daniel Anderson

Professor

Director, Studio for Instructional Technology and English Studies

Director, Composition, Rhetoric, and Digital Literacy Minor

Director, Graduate Certificate in Digital Humanities

Curriculum Coordinator, Carolina Digital Humanities Initiative

 

 

Group X - Rhetoric, Composition, and Literacy Greenlaw 533
iamdan@unc.edu

William L. Andrews

E. Maynard Adams Professor of English

Group VI - American Literature to 1900
Group XI - African American Literature
Group XII - Southern Literature
Greenlaw 432
wandrews@email.unc.edu

Christopher M. Armitage

Professor
Adjunct Professor in the Curriculum on Peace, War and Defense

Group III - English Literature from 1485 to 1660 (including Milton) Greenlaw 514
armitage@email.unc.edu

GerShun Avilez

Associate Professor

Director, UNC Program in Sexuality Studies

Affiliate Faculty, Institute of African American Research and Department of Women's & Gender Studies

Literature, Medicine, and Culture
Group IX - Critical Theory and Cultural Studies
Group VII - American Literature from 1900 to the Present
Group XI - African American Literature
Greenlaw 517
gavilez@email.unc.edu

David J. Baker

Peter G. Phialas Professor

Group III - English Literature from 1485 to 1660 (including Milton) Greenlaw 535
davidbak@email.unc.edu

Reid Barbour

Professor of English

Group III - English Literature from 1485 to 1660 (including Milton) Greenlaw 446
rbarbour@email.unc.edu

Inger S. B. Brodey

Associate Professor of Comparative Literature

Bank of America Distinguished Term Professor of Honors

Affiliate faculty in the Department of Asian Studies

Affiliate faculty in Global Studies

Comparative Literature
Group IV - English Literature from 1660 to 1789
Greenlaw 434
brodey@email.unc.edu

Gabrielle Calvocoressi

Assistant Professor and Walker Percy Fellow in Poetry

Creative Writing gabbat@gmail.com

Michael Chitwood

Lecturer

Creative Writing Greenlaw 435
mchitwoo@email.unc.edu

Danielle Christmas

Assistant Professor 

Delta Delta Delta Fellow

Comparative Literature
Group IX - Critical Theory and Cultural Studies
Group VII - American Literature from 1900 to the Present
Group XI - African American Literature
Greenlaw 440
dchristmas@unc.edu

Marc Cohen

Lecturer

Group V - English Literature from 1789 to 1900 (Nineteenth-Century British Literature)
Group X - Rhetoric, Composition, and Literacy
Greenlaw 421
cohenmd@email.unc.edu
James Coleman

Professor

Group VI - American Literature to 1900
Group XI - African American Literature
Greenlaw 216
coleman3@email.unc.edu

Pamela Cooper

Associate Professor

Group VIII - British Literature from 1900 to the Present
Group XIV - Postcolonial Literature and Theory
Greenlaw 503
pcooper@email.unc.edu

Taylor Cowdery

Assistant Professor of English

Group II - English Literature from its beginnings to 1485
Group III - English Literature from 1485 to 1660 (including Milton)
Greenlaw 440
cowdery@email.unc.edu

Elyse Crystall

Senior Lecturer

Greelaw 438
vidalia@email.unc.edu

Cynthia Current

Lecturer

Group IX - Critical Theory and Cultural Studies
Group VI - American Literature to 1900
Group VII - American Literature from 1900 to the Present
Greenlaw 421
current@email.unc.edu

Tyler Curtain

Associate Professor, Department of English and Comparative Literature, UNC Chapel Hill

Co-Director, Center for Philosophy of Biology, Department of Philosopy, Duke University

Faculty, History and Philosophy of Science, Technology & Medicine, Duke University

Associate Director and Faculty, Bread Loaf School of English, Middlebury College (http://www.middlebury.edu/blse/)

Literature, Medicine, and Culture
Group I - The English Language
Group IV - English Literature from 1660 to 1789
Group IX - Critical Theory and Cultural Studies
Group V - English Literature from 1789 to 1900 (Nineteenth-Century British Literature)
Greenlaw 522
tyler@unc.edu

Jane Danielewicz

Associate Director of the UNC Writing Program

Associate Professor

Group I - The English Language
Group X - Rhetoric, Composition, and Literacy
Greenlaw 507
janedan@email.unc.edu

María DeGuzmán

Professor

Director of Latina/o Studies, UNC - Chapel Hill, April 2004 onwards

Group IX - Critical Theory and Cultural Studies
Group VII - American Literature from 1900 to the Present
Group XIV - Postcolonial Literature and Theory
Greenlaw 429
deguzman@email.unc.edu

Florence Dore

Associate Professor

 

Founding Co-Editor, Post45 Series, Stanford University Press

Steering Committee, Post45

Greenlaw 430
fdore@unc.edu

Pam Durban

Doris Betts Distinguished Professor of Creative Writing

Creative Writing Greenlaw 230
pdurban@email.unc.edu

Connie C. Eble

Professor of English

Group I - The English Language
Group II - English Literature from its beginnings to 1485
Greenlaw 407
cceble@email.unc.edu

Rebecka Rutledge Fisher

Associate Professor

 

Comparative Literature
Group IX - Critical Theory and Cultural Studies
Group VI - American Literature to 1900
Group VII - American Literature from 1900 to the Present
Group XI - African American Literature
Greenlaw 402
rrfisher@email.unc.edu

Kathleen Flanagan

Lecturer

Affiliated Faculty, Global Studies

Group IX - Critical Theory and Cultural Studies
Group VII - American Literature from 1900 to the Present
Group VIII - British Literature from 1900 to the Present
Group XIV - Postcolonial Literature and Theory
Greenlaw 427
ktflanag@email.unc.edu

Gregory Flaxman

Associate Professor, Department of English 
Adjunct Associate Professor, Department of Communication Studies
Affiliated faculty, Program in Cultural Studies

Comparative Literature Greenlaw 508
gflax@email.unc.edu

Mary Floyd-Wilson

Bowman and Gordon Gray Distinguished Term Professor

Literature, Medicine, and Culture
Group III - English Literature from 1485 to 1660 (including Milton)
Greenlaw 433
floydwil@email.unc.edu

Leslie Frost

Senior Lecturer

Group IX - Critical Theory and Cultural Studies
Group VII - American Literature from 1900 to the Present
Dey 336
lefrost@email.unc.edu

Melissa Geil

Lecturer

Literature, Medicine, and Culture
Group III - English Literature from 1485 to 1660 (including Milton)
Group X - Rhetoric, Composition, and Literacy
Greenlaw 220
geil@email.unc.edu

Marianne Gingher

Professor of English

Creative Writing Greenlaw 214
mbging@email.unc.edu

Stephanie Elizondo Griest

Assistant Professor and Margaret R. Shuping Fellow of Creative Nonfiction

Creative Writing Greenlaw 218

Philip Gura

William S. Newman Distinguished Professor of American Literature and Culture

Group VI - American Literature to 1900 Greenlaw 426
gura@email.unc.edu

Michael Keenan Gutierrez

Lecturer

Group VII - American Literature from 1900 to the Present
Group X - Rhetoric, Composition, and Literacy
Greenlaw 220
mgutie@email.unc.edu

Minrose Gwin

Kenan Eminent Professor of English

Co-Editor of the Southern Literary Journal

Group VI - American Literature to 1900
Group XII - Southern Literature
Greenlaw 444
mgwin@email.unc.edu

Laura Halperin

Assistant Professor

Group VII - American Literature from 1900 to the Present
Group XIV - Postcolonial Literature and Theory
Greenlaw 403
lhalperi@email.unc.edu

Bradley Hammer

Senior Lecturer

Group X - Rhetoric, Composition, and Literacy Dey Hall, Room 336
bhammer@unc.edu

Jennifer Ho

Professor 

Associate Director, Institute for the Arts and Humanities 

Group IX - Critical Theory and Cultural Studies
Group VII - American Literature from 1900 to the Present
Greenlaw 205/442
jho@email.unc.edu

Susan H. Irons

Senior Lecturer

Director of Special Programs:
Distinguished Writer-in-Residence Program
Thomas Wolfe Prize and Lecture

Group VI - American Literature to 1900
Group XII - Southern Literature
Greenlaw 232
susan_irons@unc.edu

Jordynn Jack

Professor

Literature, Medicine, and Culture
Group X - Rhetoric, Composition, and Literacy
Greenlaw 512
jjack@email.unc.edu

Randall Kenan

Professor

Creative Writing Greenlaw 313
rkenan@email.unc.edu

Ritchie Kendall

Associate Professor

Group III - English Literature from 1485 to 1660 (including Milton) Graham Memorial 228
rkendall@email.unc.edu

Heidi Kim

Associate Professor

Group VII - American Literature from 1900 to the Present Greenlaw 444
heidikim@email.unc.edu
Laurie Langbauer

Professor

Group IX - Critical Theory and Cultural Studies
Group V - English Literature from 1789 to 1900 (Nineteenth-Century British Literature)
Group VIII - British Literature from 1900 to the Present
Greenlaw 502
llangbau@email.unc.edu

Jennifer Larson

Lecturer

Group XI - African American Literature Greenlaw 421
jlarson@email.unc.edu

Shayne Legassie

Assistant Professor of English and Comparative Literature

Affiliated Faculty, Program in Medieval & Early Modern Studies

Affiliated Faculty, Program in Sexuality Studies

Comparative Literature Greenlaw 424
shayne@email.unc.edu
Ted Leinbaugh

Associate Professor

Group I - The English Language
Group II - English Literature from its beginnings to 1485
Greenlaw 521
thleinba@email.unc.edu
George Lensing

Mann Family Distinguished Professor

Group VII - American Literature from 1900 to the Present Greenlaw 401
lensing@email.unc.edu

Hilary Edwards Lithgow

DOECL Liaison for Undergraduate Research

Group V - English Literature from 1789 to 1900 (Nineteenth-Century British Literature)
Group VIII - British Literature from 1900 to the Present
lithgow@email.unc.edu

Megan Matchinske

Professor

Group III - English Literature from 1485 to 1660 (including Milton)
Group IV - English Literature from 1660 to 1789
Group IX - Critical Theory and Cultural Studies
Greenlaw 534
matchin@email.unc.edu

Michael McFee

Professor

Creative Writing Greenlaw 416
mcfee@email.unc.edu

John McGowan

John W. and Anna H. Hanes Professor of English and Comparative Literature

Comparative Literature
Literature, Medicine, and Culture
Group IX - Critical Theory and Cultural Studies
Group V - English Literature from 1789 to 1900 (Nineteenth-Century British Literature)
Group VIII - British Literature from 1900 to the Present
Greenlaw 413
jpm@email.unc.edu

Jeanne Moskal

Professor

Group V - English Literature from 1789 to 1900 (Nineteenth-Century British Literature) Greenlaw 523
jmoskal@email.unc.edu

Lawrence Naumoff

Lecturer

Creative Writing Greenlaw 410
naumoff@email.unc.edu

Patrick O'Neill

James Gordon Hanes Distinguished Professor

Group I - The English Language
Group II - English Literature from its beginnings to 1485
Group XIII - Irish Literature
Greenlaw 420
pponeill@email.unc.edu

Margaret O'Shaughnessey

Senior Lecturer

Group VI - American Literature to 1900
Group VII - American Literature from 1900 to the Present
Greenlaw 501
meo@email.unc.edu

Tom Reinert

Associate Professor

Group IV - English Literature from 1660 to 1789 Greenlaw 418/211
treinert@email.unc.edu

Eliza Richards

Associate Professor

Affiliated faculty, Comparative Literature

Adjunct faculty,  American Studies

Comparative Literature
Group VI - American Literature to 1900
Greenlaw 228
ecr@email.unc.edu
Nina Riggs

Lecturer

Creative Writing Greenlaw 438
nriggs@email.unc.edu

Courtney Rivard

Fixed-term Faculty Lecturer

Group IX - Critical Theory and Cultural Studies
Group X - Rhetoric, Composition, and Literacy
Greenlaw 427
crivard@email.unc.edu
Jamie Rosenthal

Research Assistant Professor

Group IV - English Literature from 1660 to 1789
Group XIV - Postcolonial Literature and Theory
Greenlaw 425
jrosent@email.unc.edu

David Ross

Senior Lecturer

Group V - English Literature from 1789 to 1900 (Nineteenth-Century British Literature)
Group VIII - British Literature from 1900 to the Present
Greenlaw 328
daross@email.unc.edu

Ruth Salvaggio

Professor of English and American Studies

Group IV - English Literature from 1660 to 1789
Group IX - Critical Theory and Cultural Studies
Greenlaw 423
salvaggi@email.unc.edu

Alan R. Shapiro

Kenan Professor of English

Creative Writing Greenlaw 309
ashapiro@email.unc.edu

Bland Simpson

Kenan Distinguished Professor of English and Creative Writing

Creative Writing Greenlaw 231
bsimpson@email.unc.edu

Kimberly J. Stern

Assistant Professor

Group IX - Critical Theory and Cultural Studies
Group V - English Literature from 1789 to 1900 (Nineteenth-Century British Literature)
Greenlaw 513
kstern@email.unc.edu

Beverly Taylor

Professor

Group V - English Literature from 1789 to 1900 (Nineteenth-Century British Literature) Greenlaw 209
btaylor@email.unc.edu

Matthew Taylor

Associate Professor

Co-Editor, American Literature

Literature, Medicine, and Culture
Group IX - Critical Theory and Cultural Studies
Group VI - American Literature to 1900
Group VII - American Literature from 1900 to the Present
Greenlaw 532
mattheta@email.unc.edu

Todd Taylor

Norman and Dorothy Eliason Distinguished Professor

Group X - Rhetoric, Composition, and Literacy Greenlaw 519
twtaylor@email.unc.edu

James Thompson

Professor

Group IV - English Literature from 1660 to 1789
Group IX - Critical Theory and Cultural Studies
Greenlaw 531
uthomp@email.unc.edu

Jane F. Thrailkill

Bowman and Gordon Gray Distinguished Term Associate Professor

Literature, Medicine, and Culture
Group IX - Critical Theory and Cultural Studies
Group VI - American Literature to 1900
Greenlaw 411
tkill@unc.edu

Whitney Trettien

Assistant Professor

Group III - English Literature from 1485 to 1660 (including Milton) Greenlaw 518
trettien@email.unc.edu

Henry Veggian

Senior Lecturer

 

Group IX - Critical Theory and Cultural Studies
Group VII - American Literature from 1900 to the Present
Group X - Rhetoric, Composition, and Literacy
Greenlaw 422
torino3@email.unc.edu

Joe Viscomi

The James G. Kenan Distinguished Professor of English

Group V - English Literature from 1789 to 1900 (Nineteenth-Century British Literature) Greenlaw 504
jsviscom@email.unc.edu

Daniel Wallace

J. Ross MacDonald Distinguished Professor of English

Creative Writing Greenlaw 520
dhwallac@email.unc.edu

Rick Warner

Assistant Professor

Kenan Fellow

Faculty Fellow, Institute for the Arts and Humanities, Fall 15

Affiliate faculty in Global Studies

Comparative Literature
Group IX - Critical Theory and Cultural Studies
Group VII - American Literature from 1900 to the Present
Greenlaw 439
crwarner@email.unc.edu
Wendy Weber

Senior Lecturer

Group VII - American Literature from 1900 to the Present
Group VIII - British Literature from 1900 to the Present
Group XI - African American Literature
Greenlaw 328
weberw@email.unc.edu
Ross White Creative Writing

Jessica Wolfe

Professor, English and Comparative Literature

Affiliated faculty, Romance Studies (French and Italian)

Affiliated faculty, Classics

Affiliated faculty, Medieval and Early Modern Studies

 

Comparative Literature
Group III - English Literature from 1485 to 1660 (including Milton)
Greenlaw 417
wolfej@unc.edu