Professor Randall Kenan has been inducted into the North Carolina Writer's Hall of Fame. Kenan joins four other inductees recognized this year for their contributions to the state's literary excellence. In announcing Kenan's induction, the Hall of Fame notes many of his accomplishments:

Randall Kenan, a native of Duplin County, is the author of a novel, A Visitation of Spirits; two works of nonfiction, Walking on Water: Black American Lives at the Turn of the Twenty-First Century and The Fire This Time; and an award-winning collection of stories, Let the Dead Bury Their Dead. He edited and wrote the introductions for The Cross of Redemption: The Uncollected Writings of James Baldwin and The Carolina Table: North Carolina Writers on Food. Among his awards are a Guggenheim Fellowship, The Whiting Writers’ Award, the North Carolina Award, and the American Academy of Arts and Letters’ Rome Prize.

Congratulations to Professor Kenan.



Once again, the department has been recognized for its excellence in teaching. Multiple members of the faculty have recently recieved awards for their teaching:
Laura Halperin has won the Chapman Family Teaching Award
Cynthia Current has won the Johnston Award for Excellence in Teaching
Marc Cohen has won the Tanner Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
Jane Danielewicz has won the Distinguished Teaching Award for Post-Baccalaureate Instruction
Ben Murphy has won the Tanner Teaching Assistants Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching