Distinguished Writer-in-Residence Program

The Distinguished Writer-in-Residence Program brings significant contemporary writers to campus to meet with students and faculty, to visit classes, and to give readings, talks, and symposia.  The program extends across the campus into the surrounding community.  Its goal is not only to teach and inspire Carolina's writing students, but also to provide a way for the public to join in the celebration of the literary arts.

The program builds upon the legacy of the Morgan Writer-in-Residence Program, which brought an outstanding array of noted writers to campus from 1993 to 2012.


Past Morgan/Distinguished Writers-in-Residence

2015 Terry Tempest Williams
2014 Stewart O'Nan
2013 Mary Karr
2012 Athol Fugard
2011 Amy Hempel
2010 Edward P. Jones
2009 Mark Strand
2008 Alice McDermott
2007 Tim O'Brien
2006 Joan Didion
2005 Robert Hass
2004 Alice Walker (in conjunction with the Center of the American South)
2003 Calvin Trillin
2002 Tobias Wolff
2001 John Edgar Wideman
2000 Russell Banks
1999 Richard Wilbur
1998 Rita Dove
1998 Robert Pinsky
1997 Richard Ford
1996 Beth Henley
1995 Annie Dillard
1993 Shelby Foote